That’s Right. I am a Time Traveler.

I don’t quite know how to tell you this without sounding like I have a room permanently reserved in a state facilitated padded room… But, here it is. Plain and simple. I talk to dead people and they quite frequently talk to me. There I said it. Still there? Oh, good.

Let me explain… I have embarked down this lovely little road called GENEALOGY and I love  it. It is like picking up a really excellent book that you never want to put down and the good thing is that this book NEVER ends! Hooray! But, I digress…

Where was I? Oh yes, time travel. I am a frequent time traveler. I don’t need any kind of toll booth or a fancy out of this world car, but I travel back to the past several times a day and honestly, some times I don’t really want to come back. It sucks you in like that. Genealogy, for me, is not only the understanding of who the people generations before you were/are, but it is a telling of their story; an understanding of life then for the ancestors and for those around them. I vow to tell that story. So, obviously, I am into ‘family history’, but I’m more than just into it for my family. I would like to tell your story too. (I am pursuing a certificate in the study of genealogy and a degree in Professional Writing, among other things.) So, if you would like me to tell you the story of your ancestors, I would be more than happy to do so… you have my contact information, feel free to use it. I am specializing in the African American Story in Virginia. And before you get on your high horse and tell me that you can just grab a subscription to Ancestry or some other service provider and find everything you need to know… allow me to reiterate that I said tell the story, not just find the records… But to each his own, I suppose.

Oh bother. I’ve gotten off track again. You were interested in me talking to dead people, right? Hmm… where to begin? I’m not sure I really know where to start or that there is even a starting point to begin with. How did I realize that I could talk to dead people? Well, honestly, I needed a distraction. I needed to find something to occupy my time and entertain my brain as I recovered from a head injury. And so I started down this road not looking for much, but then I found an article about my great great grandfather… He died. But how he died struck me and sunk the hooks of genealogy story telling deep into my bones. And it was then that I started ‘talking’ to dead people. I tried to imagine what it would have been like in those last moments of life. I wanted to know if he had seen the train coming, I mean how could  he not have, right? I wanted to know who he was visiting in the hospital and did that have something to do with him getting struck by the train? The dead didn’t talk back right away, though. In the case of my great grandfather and this train, he still isn’t talking. But maybe someday he will. I hope that you will join me in my time travels and I am excited to share with you the little bread crumbs I find and the goldbricks that drop from Heaven’s gates.

henry hamn

 

6 comments

  1. Terri Hildreth · January 14, 2016

    Like it, Kimberly. Looking forward to reading more.

    Like

    • dvn ms kmz time travel · January 15, 2016

      Thank you for reading. I am excited about this adventure and looking forward to what comes next as well. 😉

      Like

  2. treeklimber · January 15, 2016

    I enjoyed your article and your introduction drew me in immediately.

    Like

    • dvn ms kmz time travel · January 15, 2016

      Welcome to my adventures in time travel!I hope you will be a repeat visitor! I can’t wait to see where we’ll go or talk about next…

      Like

  3. Cathy Meder-Dempsey · January 15, 2016

    Welcome to the blogging world. Look forward to time traveling with you!

    Like

    • dvn ms kmz time travel · January 15, 2016

      Thank you for welcoming to the blogging world. And allow me to personally welcome you to the world of time travel- or at least what it looks like through my eyes!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

